Former Jaguars RB Fred Taylor once again snubbed by Hall of Fame

Running back Fred Taylor #28 of the Jacksonville Jaguars (Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images)
Running back Fred Taylor #28 of the Jacksonville Jaguars (Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images) /

The Pro Football Hall of Fame just announced their 15 modern-era finalists for their 2022 class and Jacksonville Jaguars fans surely have mixed feelings about it. While it’s great to see All-Pro left tackle Tony Boselli once again made it to the finalist stage, the omission of running back Fred Taylor is puzzling.

Boselli has a legitimate shot to make the final cut and be enshrined in 2022. This is the sixth time he’s advanced to this part of the process and it looks like it’s a matter of time before he gets in. On the other hand, Taylor also has a resume worthy of a gold jacket. During his 11-year tenure in Jacksonville, the ninth overall pick of the 1998 NFL Draft racked up 2,428 carries for 11,271 yards and 62 touchdowns. As the running back said not long ago on social media, he used to go against and run over many of the players that have already gotten in the fame.

Taylor should have been a finalist this year. He was one of the best running backs of the 2000s and deserves to be recognized as such. Here’s the list of players that did make the final 15:

  • Jared Allen (Kansas City Chiefs/Minnesota Vikings), defensive end
  • Willie Anderson (Cincinnati Bengals), offensive tackle
  • Ronde Barber (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), cornerback
  • Tony Boselli (Jacksonville Jaguars), offensive tackle
  • LeRoy Butler (Green Bay Packers), safety
  • Devin Hester (Chicago Bears), return specialist
  • Torry Holt (Los Angeles Rams), wide receiver
  • Andre Johnson (Houston Texans), wide receiver
  • Sam Mills (New Orleans Saints/Carolina Panthers), linebacker
  • Richard Seymour (Las Vegas Raiders/New England Patriots), defensive end
  • Zach Thomas (Miami Dolphins), linebacker
  • DeMarcus Ware (Dallas Cowboys/Denver Broncos), linebacker
  • Reggie Wayne (Indianapolis Colts), wide receiver
  • Patrick Willis (San Francisco 49ers), linebacker
  • Bryant Young (San Francisco 49ers), defensive lineman

The Hall of Fame hasn’t been kind to the Jaguars in recent years.

Tony Boselli needs to get enshrined this year and Fred Taylor should eventually get in. It’s fair to wonder why Jaguars legend Jimmy Smith hasn’t gotten more consideration, as he was one of the top wide receivers in the league in the early 2000s. Yes, Torry Holt wore the Black and Teal in 2009 and he was productive, hauling in 51 receptions for 722. It will also be great to see him make the Hall of Fame but he’s better known for his years in the Greatest Show on Turf.

Keep in mind that voters face a conundrum every year. If Taylor were a finalist, who do they leave out? If Boselli gets in, someone else won’t. This isn’t to justify the Hall of Fame committee but to keep things in context. While there doesn’t seem to be a bias towards Jaguars players, they are underrepresented in the hall. Something needs to be done about it.

While the Jaguars haven’t had as many great players in recent years, those that left their mark in Jacksonville deserve to get recognized and there’s no better way to do it than inducting them in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Next. 5 worst moves of the Trent Baalke era. dark