Josh Scobee: The Next Inductee Into The Pride Of The Jaguars?


Jimmy Smith was inducted into the Jacksonville Jaguars Pride of the Jaguars last Sunday.  The question is, who will be next inductee into the Pride?

The Jacksonville Jaguars have had many talented players throughout their history.  The Pride of the Jaguars is a very inclusive group.  Consequently, only the truly great players are considered.  Which Jacksonville Jaguar will be the next inductee into the Pride of the Jaguars?

Maurice Jones-Drew had a great career as a  Jaguar running back.  He ran for 8071 yards with 68 rushing touchdowns.  Many fans still wear his jersey to the games.  Jones-Drew would be a great inductee.

Keenan McCardell is another quality candidate for induction.  His induction would unite “Thunder and Lightning”.  He is second in receiving behind Jimmy Smith with 499 catches for 6393 yards.

Paul Posluszny, Telvin Smith, and Jalen Ramsey are great candidates to be the first defensive inductees.  Shad Khan is a great owner and is a candidate to join the Weavers.  There is one name that should be the next inductee into the Pride of the Jaguars.

Josh Scobee should be the next inductee into the Pride.

First, Josh Scobee is the all time leading scorer in Jacksonville history.  He scored 1022 points and second place is not close.  He scored more points than Mark Brunell, Fred Taylor and Jimmy Smith combined by 90.

Next, he made 317 out of 322 extra points.  He only missed five in his career with Jacksonville.  He made 98% of his extra point kicks!

Scobee could kick the long field goal.  He had kicks of 50, 52, 53 (four times), 55 (two times) and 59 yards in his Jaguar career.  His leg was a powerful weapon for the Jacksonville offense.

In conclusion, there are many players who could be the next inductee.  Hopefully they will be honored for their careers in Jacksonville.  But really, Josh Scobee deserves to be the next inductee into the Pride of the Jaguars.